Mason Recreation End of the Year: The Awards!

Posted: May 16, 2016 at 12:24 pm, Last Updated: May 23, 2016 at 3:21 pm

Here are a few superlatives that were awarded during our end of the year social!

Mason Recreation

Employee of the Year

Winner: Gerald Castillo


 Spring Employee of the Semester

Winner: Elizabeth Vana



Grace under Pressure

Burmese politician and Nobel Prize winner Aung San Suu Kyi once described leadership as “grace under pressure.” This award goes to the staff member who leads by example, keeping things positive whether faced with smiling students and sunny days or tough customers and stormy weather.

Winner: Bruce Keith


This award goes to the staff member who is always trying new things or implements innovative ways of doing things to help the organization improve.

Winners (tie): Virginia Wine, Courtney Burkey


Helping Hand

This award goes to the staff member most likely to give the extra effort to help out clients, fellow facilitators, or administrative staff, particularly when we have a last-minute change in the schedule.

Winner: Nick Schwarz


Graduating Students

Kevin Rogers (senior)

Brittany Grutter (senior)

Sanjeev Narasimha Murthy (graduate school)



Swim Instructor of the Year

This award is given to an employee who is passionate about teaching people to be safe in on and around the water, has a regular flow of lessons, helps fellow instructors as able, has good communication with supervisor, and has received positive evaluations from clients.

Winner: Fred Zamon

Safety Instructor of the Year

This award is given to an employee who demonstrates proficiency in teaching CPR/AED/FA and/or Lifeguarding, teaches regularly, helps their fellow instructors, communicates well with their supervisor, and has positive evaluations from their classes.

Winner: Daniel Gassel


Intramural Sports


Winner: Brady Jenkins


Golden Whistle

Winner: Alonzo Evans


Rookie of the Year

Winner: Alyssa Nacman

Employee of the Year Nominee

Nominees: Brady Jenkins and Susan Murphy


Facilities: AFC/Skyline

Started From The Bottom, Now We Here Award (Most Improved)

Winner: Liam Averioin, Karyn Tumaleo

26349819174_a16aa50050_k (1)

Colby 2.0 Award (Best Example of Leadership)

Winner: Nino Dandan

26681756150_07e7ec38bb_k (1)

AFC MVP (Most Hours)

Winner: Sam Proctor

26349813534_f00b8e48ec_k (1)